Useful tips

If the quality of a translation depends of course largely on our intervention, you can also contribute significantly to it by a good preparation beforehand and a good feedback afterwards, and by remaining reachable during the job.

Here are some tips that may prove useful not only for the translation itself, but also in your content management:

Integrate the translation phase in your processes

By planning it at an early stage of your content creation / management process, and including a margin to cope with the inevitable contingencies, this allows to set a realistic time frame and to avoid additional costs for an emergency execution.

Validate content before translation

Run the translation phase only on the final content, properly proofread, corrected and approved by management and / or other stakeholders. If the document was published in revision mode, confirm the changes before sending it for translation.

Run the translation before formatting

It is always hazardous to lay out a document intended to be issued in several languages before translating it. From one language to another, the length can indeed fluctuate considerably, from 20 to 30% in some cases! This is called "expansion". This expansion can cause problems to the translator as well as to the designer or the developer of software or Web sites (e.g.: footer → pied de page).

Cure the source document before translation

Be sure to set the correct language for your source document and then a complete spell check to eliminate as much as possible typos, punctuation errors, unnecessary tabs, redundant spaces, etc. To this end, view your document by displaying the paragraph marks (¶) in your usual word processor.
If it proves impossible to have the translation of your text done before formatting (see previous tip), avoid as much as possible to format fragments of your document by modifying the "normal" style and prefer instead the use of (predefined or custom) "styles".
Use indents and set tabs instead of a succession of spaces to vertically align text fragments;

Choose the correct application

Excel® is not a word processor and Word® is not a spreadsheet.

Perform "clean" copy/paste

Especially between different applications (e.g. from a web page, an email client, a spreadsheet or presentation to a word processor), but also between different files within the same application, avoid the simple "paste", which can jeopardise the structure of your source file with malformed components, and always prefer a "clean paste" (e.g. in Word®: Edit > Paste Special > Unformatted text).

Mark the changes in successive versions

Be sure to clearly mark (for example using a font colour, highlighting etc.) the modified parts when you assign us the translation of a new version of a text already translated previously. This will avoid treating (and thus invoicing) the whole document.

Document us (before)

When sending us the final document to be translated, consider also to document us as completely as possible, in order to ensure consistency, and terminology or expressions specific to your company / sector. As we use C.A.T. tools (see Frequently Asked Questions) that are fed over time, this "memory" will thus be enhanced for an even better quality.

  • previous source & validated translation (if performed by another stakeholder);
  • company glossary;
  • terminology references;
  • technical references;
  • legal references;
  • legal sources;
  • full meaning of used abbreviations;
  • etc.
Feedback

For the same reasons as mentioned above, your feedback after delivery is very helpful, as it will allow us to maintain and update our tools to serve you even better.

Remain reachable

It is not advisable to outsource tasks during your absence.
This will leave the subcontractor without any opportunity to contact you to submit his technical or practical questions or clarification requests.

Conseils utiles

Si la qualité d'une traduction dépend bien entendu en majeure partie de notre intervention, vous pouvez aussi y contribuer significativement par une bonne préparation en amont et un bon retour d'informations en aval, et en étant joignable en cours d'exécution.

Voici quelques conseils qui peuvent s'avérer utiles, non seulement pour la traduction elle-même, mais également dans votre gestion de contenus :

Intégrez la phase de traduction dans vos processus

En la planifiant à un stade précoce de votre processus de création / gestion de contenus, et en prévoyant une marge pour faire face aux inévitables imprévus, ceci permet d'allouer des délais réalistes et d'éviter des surcoûts pour exécution en urgence.

Validez les contenus avant traduction

Ne lancez la phase de traduction que sur des contenus définitifs, relus, corrigés et validés par la hiérarchie et/ou toutes autres parties prenantes. Si le document a été édité en mode "révision", validez les modifications apportées avant de le transmettre pour traduction.

Lancez la traduction avant la mise en forme

Il est toujours hasardeux de procéder à la mise en page d'un document destiné à une diffusion dans plusieurs langues avant sa traduction. D'une langue à l'autre, la longueur peut en effet considérablement fluctuer, de 20 à 30% dans certains cas ! On parle alors de "foisonnement". Ce foisonnement peut poser des problèmes tant au traducteur qu'au graphiste, voire au développeur de logiciels ou de sites Web (p. ex. : footer → pied de page).

Soignez le document source avant traduction

Veillez à définir la bonne langue pour votre document source et procédez ensuite à une vérification orthographique complète pour en éliminer le plus possible les coquilles, erreurs de ponctuation, tabulations inutiles, espaces redondants etc. A cet effet, visualisez votre document en affichant les marques de paragraphe (¶) dans votre traitement de texte habituel.
S'il ne vous est pas possible de faire traduire votre texte avant mise en page (voir conseil précédent), évitez le plus possible la mise en forme de fragments de votre document par modification(s) du style "normal", et préférez toujours l'utilisation de "styles" (prédéfinis ou personnalisés).
Utilisez des retraits et définissez des tabulations au lieu d'une succession d'espaces pour aligner verticalement des fragments de texte ;

Optez pour la bonne application

Excel® n'est pas un traitement de texte et Word® n'est pas un tableur.

Effectuez des copier/coller "propres"

Surtout entre différentes applications (par exemple depuis une page Web, un client de messagerie, un tableur ou une présentation vers un traitement de texte), mais également entre différents fichiers d'une même application, évitez le simple "coller", qui pourra polluer la structure de votre fichier source avec des composants mal formés, et préférez toujours un "collage propre" (p. ex. dans Word® : Edition > Collage spécial > Texte sans mise en forme).

Marquez les modifications des versions successives

Veillez à clairement marquer (par exemple à l'aide d'une couleur de police, un surlignage etc.) les parties modifiées lorsque vous nous confiez la traduction d'une nouvelle version d'un texte déjà traduit préalablement. Ceci nous évitera de devoir traiter (et donc facturer) le document entier.

Documentez-nous (en amont)

Au moment de nous confier le document final à traduire, songez aussi à nous documenter le plus complètement possible, ceci afin de garantir la cohérence, les terminologies et expressions propres à votre entreprise / secteur. Comme nous utilisons des outils de T.A.O. (voir Foire aux Questions), qui s'alimentent au fil de nos interventions, cette "mémoire" va ainsi s'enrichir pour une meilleure qualité.
Les éléments utiles à nous communiquer, s'ils existent, peuvent par exemple être :

  • original & traduction validée précédente (si réalisée par un autre intervenant) ;
  • glossaire maison ;
  • références terminologiques ;
  • références techniques ;
  • références légales ;
  • sources juridiques ;
  • signification complète des abréviations utilisées ;
  • etc.
Feedback

Pour les mêmes raisons qu'évoquées ci-dessus, le retour d'informations après livraison est très utile, car ceci nous permettra d'entretenir et de mettre à jour ces outils pour vous servir encore mieux.

Restez joignable

Il est fortement déconseillé de confier des missions à des intervenants externes durant votre propre absence.
Ceci privera l'intervenant de toute possibilité de contact pour vous soumettre ses questions techniques ou pratiques ou demandes de précisions.