Frequently Asked Questions

What is the course of a translation?

The typical course of a translation involves the following steps:

  • establishment of a quote: final and binding, both in terms of price and time, if the document to translate is provided to us in a common desktop file format, estimated in other cases;
  • planning: depending on the time of receipt of the agreement, addition of the request to the schedule;
  • pre-processing: checking, correcting, cleaning and improving of the document to be translated to set the correct language, remove the typographical and/or punctuation errors, unnecessary tabs, redundant spaces, chaotic indents etc. and apply the most appropriate formatting styles in order to be able to work on an as sound as possible source. If necessary, extraction of text strings of illustrations, text boxes, drawings, animations etc.. as well as from headers and footers. In the case of a non-desktop source document, these steps will be preceded and partly replaced by scanning and OCR (optical character recognition);
  • documentation: in the case of large projects, documentary research to feed the translation memory by using all possible resources (statutory or legislative texts, standards, directives, reference works, scientific and technical publications ...);
  • translation: translation of all the text strings using a CAT tool (see below);
  • proofreading: several runs of (cold) proofreading of the translation, first to compare it to the source to ensure accuracy and exhaustiveness, and then without the original text in order to optimize readability and fluidity of the text of the translation, and its proper adequacy with the target audience;
  • quality control: verification of the setting of the proper language, spelling and syntax checks, completeness check to ensure that the whole has been translated, consistency check with the appropriate terminology as well as throughout the text;
  • delivery: sending the translation, if necessary together with a report when inconsistencies or errors to be corrected were found in the original, and accounting (or billing) of the intervention;
  • post-processing: edition / correction of the TM of the CAT tool based on your feedback to improve the adequacy of subsequent interventions.

Top of page

What is a CAT tool?

C.A.T. stands for "Computer Aided Translation". CAT tools should not be confused with machine translation. To simplify, a CAT tool is an application that, while the translation proceeds, stores every TU (translation unit - part of translation, usually a sentence) into a database, called TM (translation memory), and for each new TU to handle consults this translation memory, in order to benefit from the recurrence of words, expressions and sentences in a document to ensure consistency of terminology and syntax throughout the translation. The translation is done by a human, but with the help of the "memory" of the machine.

Top of page

How is determined the unit rate of a translation?

The unit rate is determined by the language pair. When the source and/ or the target language belong to language groups resulting in a supplement, the applied rate is the one corresponding to the language with the highest supplement. This base rate can then be further increased for urgent execution and / or outside the working days and hours, and possibly for scanning and OCR (optical character recognition) of the original to be translated. All our rates are also linked to the evolution of the index of consumer prices by an annual adjustment.

Top of page

Why is there a difference in unit rate according to language groups?

This arises from the rules of supply and demand, because the translators in such languages AND experienced in the subject matter to be translated are fewer in our geographical area of activity.

These language groups are:

  1. European languages - Factor: 1.000
    • English
    • Spanish
    • French
    • Italian
    • Dutch
    • Portuguese
    • Catalan
  2. European Germanic languages, etc. - Factor: 1.167
    • Afrikaans
    • German
    • Basque
  3. Nordic, Slavic languages - Factor: 1.333
    • Belarusian
    • Bulgarian
    • Czech
    • Danish
    • Estonian
    • Finnish
    • Croatian
    • Hungarian
    • Armenian
    • Lithuanian
    • Latvian
    • Macedonian
    • Norwegian
    • Polish
    • Romanian
    • Russian
    • Slovak
    • Slovenian
    • Albanian
    • Serbian
    • Swedish
    • Ukrainian
  4. Rare European languages - Factor: 1.500
    • Greek
    • Persian
    • Hebrew
    • Maltese
    • Turkish
  5. Arabic, Asian languages - Factor: 1.667
    • Arabic
    • Hindi
    • Indonesian
    • Japanese
    • Korean
    • Latin
    • Vietnamese
    • Chinese

Top of page

What is the pricing approach of TEET?

When it comes to the pricing of language services, two approaches coexist in the market. The first approach is to define a relatively high basic rate, but allowing reductions for various degrees of repetition in the text to be translated. In the second approach, however, the defined basic rate already takes into account a general reduction based on the average degree of repetition found over the years. This basic rate is lower than the first, but applies "as it comes". This is the approach applied at TEET.

Top of page

How is the price of a translation calculated?

The price of a translation results from multiplying the unit rate (see above) and the volume, expressed in words. The word count is carried out on the source text if it is provided in a common desktop format, if not on the translated document. For a quote, if the document to translate is provided in a common desktop format, the quoted price is firm and final, otherwise it is an estimate which will be adapted according to the real volume of translated document.

Top of page

Which are the invoicing/payment modes offered by TEET?
  • Individuals: billing at delivery (*), cash payment;
  • Companies - initial order: see individuals;
  • Companies - lasting relationship: billing at the end of the month, payment after 30 days (end of the month).

(*): in case of a (first) request of a large volume, a deposit of 30% will be requested prior to launch the production.

In any case, our estimates and invoices clearly state the terms and conditions that apply, as well as our bank details (IBAN & BIC) to be used for payments.

Top of page

What is a normal turnaround time?

Typically, for a translation, an intervention at normal turnaround time is an intervention:

  • needing NO reorganization whatsoever of the planning of the jobs in progress for the same or above all for other clients;
  • that can be performed during normal working hours (Monday through Friday, excluding weekends and public holidays);
  • allowing a normal translation speed of +/- 350 words / hour (may vary depending on the field and the technical and/or lexical difficulty);
  • allowing a proofreading / quality control on the day following the completion of the translation process, whatever the ending time of translation, at a normal speed of +/- 1000 words / hour.

Example for a text of 1400 words:

  • L: delivered on a Monday (business day) before 4:00 p.m.;
  • D: beginning of the translation, production launched on Wednesday (business day), duration +/- 4 hours;
  • F: end of the translation, the same Wednesday, time irrelevant;
  • Pr: proofreading on Thursday (business day), duration +/- 1 ½ hours;
  • R: return on Thursday, before 12:00 a.m.

Our online estimate tool calculates, for information only, the normal execution time, in days.

Top of page

Why is there a supplement for urgent translations?

The supplement for urgent execution, applied in all areas of activity, is justified by the requirement to reorganize the current planning and the use of additional resources, so as to ensure in any circumstances to all of our clients the best quality in strict compliance with the deadlines.

Top of page

Does TEET apply a minimum fee, and why?

TEET applies indeed a minimum fee, which corresponds to one hour of work (see Tariff as of January 1, 2016 for the current amount).

Regardless of the duration of the translation intervention itself, each intervention requires annex administrative and accounting work (e.g. communication before, during, after, estimate, planning, follow-up, invoicing, payments, reminders, accounting records...). The margin generated by interventions on very short texts will not cover this administrative work.

The application of a minimum fee can be compared to the fixed "application fee" billed separately in other areas of activity.

Top of page

Does TEET award any discounts for volume?

We consider that any customer using our services on an on-going and repetitive basis, for volumes that contribute SIGNIFICANTLY to our annual turnover, and provided that there are no unpaid invoices, should be fairly rewarded. We therefore establish, by mutual consent with the client, a progressive "key account" discount subject to a comprehensive pricing framework communicated at the beginning of the year and valid for all requests delivered during the accounting year (which at TEET follows the calendar year from January 1 to December 31).

Top of page

On what types of files intervenes TEET?

TEET can intervene on a large number of media / files containing text. For standard desktop files (Word, Excel, PowerPoint) or web pages (HTML, xHTML, XML), our translation respects the exact same formatting of the original. For other media, where content can not be extracted computationally but needs to be reconstructed (eg. photocompositions, fax, photocopies, graphical scanning ...) and unless otherwise requested by you, the translation will be given only a minimal formatting.

Top of page

Does TEET also provide sworn translations?

A sworn translation is a translation certified by a sworn translator to be true to the original, by appending an apostille such as "certified translation (true to the original)" bearing his seal, signed and dated. A sworn translator is in fact an expert translator, minister of the law, with the official title of "expert translator and interpreter at the Court of Appeal" (or the Court of Cassation). This status is subject to a regular renewal.

In itself TEET does not have the status of sworn translator, and could not have it, but some of our staff have. So we can call on them to satisfy such requests.

A sworn translation is generally required for the translation of official documents asked by administrations (birth or marriage certificates, divorce judgments, identity cards, company statutes and balance sheets), for tenders, to obtain visas, or for an establishment abroad.

Practically, allow three to ten working days time: if the sending of documents is often possible electronically, the return can only be done by mail (or messenger).

Note however that as part of the European integration, an "European" version exists for a large number of documents issued by governments of the Member States (eg. excerpts and certificates of civil status). You just have to request the European version to the public administration (from a Member State) in question, which has the same legal and administrative value as the corresponding administrative documents issued in the requesting (European) country.

Top of page

Foire aux Questions

Quel est le déroulement d'une traduction ?

Le déroulement typique d'une traduction passe par les stades suivants :

  • établissement d'un devis : ferme et définitif, tant en termes de prix que de délai, si le document à traduire nous est fourni au format bureautique courant, estimatif dans les autres cas ;
  • planification : en fonction du moment de réception de l'accord, insertion de la demande dans le planning ;
  • préparation : vérification, correction, nettoyage, amélioration du document à traduire pour en paramétrer la bonne langue, en supprimer les coquilles, erreurs de ponctuation, tabulations inutiles, espaces redondants, retraits chaotiques etc. et y appliquer les styles de mise en forme les plus appropriés, de manière à pouvoir travailler sur une base la plus saine possible. Au besoin, extraction de chaînes de texte d'illustrations, zones de texte, dessins, animations etc. ainsi que des entêtes et pieds de page. Dans le cas d'un original non bureautique, ces étapes seront précédées et en partie remplacées par la numérisation et l'OCR (reconnaissance optique des caractères) ;
  • documentation : dans le cas de projets importants, recherches documentaires permettant d'alimenter la mémoire de traduction en ayant recours à toutes les ressources possibles (textes réglementaires ou législatifs, normes, directives, ouvrages de référence, publications scientifiques ou techniques…) ;
  • traduction : traduction de l'intégralité des chaînes de texte à l'aide d'un outil de TAO (voir ci-après) ;
  • relecture : plusieurs passages de relecture (à froid) de la traduction, d'abord comparative vis-à-vis de l'original pour garantir la fidélité et l'exhaustivité, puis ensuite sans le texte original, afin d'optimiser la lisibilité et fluidité du texte de la traduction, et sa bonne adéquation avec le public cible ;
  • contrôle de qualité : vérification du paramétrage de la bonne langue, vérification orthographique et syntaxique, contrôle d'exhaustivité pour assurer que l'intégralité a été traduite, contrôle de cohérence tant avec la terminologie appropriée qu'à l'intérieur du texte ;
  • livraison : envoi de la traduction, le cas échéant accompagné d'un rapport lorsque des incohérences ou erreurs à corriger ont été constatées dans l'original, et imputation (ou facturation) de l'intervention ;
  • post-traitement : édition / correction de la TM de l'outil de TAO en fonction de la remontée d'informations (feedback) de votre part, afin d'améliorer la pertinence des interventions ultérieures.

Haut page

Qu'est-ce qu'un outil de TAO ?

T.A.O. signifie "Traduction assistée par ordinateur". Il ne faut pas confondre les outils de TAO avec des outils de traduction automatique. Pour simplifier, un outil de TAO est une application qui enregistre chaque TU (translation unit - élément de traduction, généralement une phrase) au fur et à mesure de la traduction dans une base de données, appelée TM (translation memory - mémoire de traduction), et qui consulte à chaque nouveau TU à traiter cette mémoire de traduction, afin de tirer parti de la récurrence de mots, expressions et phrases dans un document pour assurer une cohérence terminologique et syntaxique dans la traduction. La traduction est bien effectuée par un humain, mais en s'aidant de la "mémoire" de la machine.

Haut page

Comment se détermine le taux unitaire d'une traduction ?

Le taux unitaire est déterminé en fonction de la combinaison de langues. Lorsque la langue source et/ou la langue cible appartiennent aux groupes de langues donnant lieu à majoration, le taux retenu est celui correspondant à la langue dont la majoration est la plus élevée. Ce taux de base peut ensuite encore être majoré pour exécution urgente et/ou en dehors des jours et heures ouvrables, et éventuellement pour la numérisation et l'OCR (reconnaissance optique des caractères) de l'original à traduire. Tous nos taux sont par ailleurs liés à l'évolution de l'indice des prix à la consommation par une indexation annuelle.

Haut page

Pourquoi y a-t-il une différence de taux unitaire selon les groupes de langues ?

Ceci découle des règles d'offre et de demande, du fait que les traducteurs compétents dans ces autres langues ET expérimentés dans le sujet du texte à traduire sont moins nombreux dans notre zone géographique d'activité.

Ces groupes de langues sont :

  1. Langues européennes - facteur : 1,000
    • Anglais
    • Espagnol
    • Français
    • Italien
    • Néerlandais
    • Portugais
    • Catalan
  2. Langues européennes germaniques etc. - facteur : 1,167
    • Afrikaans
    • Allemand
    • Basque
  3. Langues nordiques, slaves - facteur : 1,333
    • Biélorusse
    • Bulgare
    • Tchèque
    • Danois
    • Estonien
    • Finnois
    • Croate
    • Hongrois
    • Arménien
    • Lituanien
    • Letton
    • Macédonien
    • Norvégien
    • Polonais
    • Roumain
    • Russe
    • Slovaque
    • Slovène
    • Albanais
    • Serbe
    • Suédois
    • Ukrainien
  4. Langues européennes rares - facteur : 1,500
    • Grec
    • Farsi
    • Hébreu
    • Maltais
    • Turc
  5. Arabe, langues asiatiques - facteur : 1,667
    • Arabe
    • Hindi
    • Indonésien
    • Japonais
    • Coréen
    • Latin
    • Vietnamien
    • Chinois

Haut page

Quelle est l'approche tarifaire de TEET ?

En matière de tarification de services linguistiques, deux approches coexistent sur le marché. La première approche consiste à définir un taux de base assez élevé, mais donnant lieu ensuite à des réductions pour les différents degrés de répétition dans le texte à traduire. Dans la seconde approche cependant, le taux de base défini tient déjà compte d'une réduction générale basée sur le degré moyen de répétition constaté au fil des années. Ce taux de base est donc plus bas que le premier, mais s'applique au "tout venant". C'est l'approche appliquée chez TEET.

Haut page

Comment se calcule le prix d'une traduction ?

Le prix d'une traduction résulte de la multiplication du taux unitaire (voir ci-dessus) et du volume, exprimé en mots. Le comptage des mots se réalise sur le texte source s'il est fourni au format bureautique courant, sinon sur le document traduit. Dans le cas d'un devis, si le document à traduire est fourni au format bureautique courant, l'offre de prix est ferme et définitive, dans le cas contraire il s'agit d'une estimation qui sera adaptée selon le volume réel du document traduit.

Haut page

Quels sont les modes de facturation / paiement proposés par TEET ?
  • Particuliers : facturation à la livraison (*), paiement au grand comptant ;
  • Entreprises - première commande : idem particuliers ;
  • Entreprises - relation suivie : facturation fin de mois, paiement à 30 jours, fin de mois.

(*) : en cas de (première) commande de volume important, un acompte de 30% sera réclamé avant la mise en production.

Dans tous les cas de figure, nos devis et factures mentionnent clairement les modalités qui s'y appliquent, ainsi que nos coordonnées bancaires (IBAN & BIC) à utiliser pour les paiements.

Haut page

Qu'est-ce qu'un délai d'exécution normal ?

Typiquement, pour une traduction, une intervention à délai normal est une intervention :

  • n'imposant AUCUN réaménagement du planning des travaux en cours pour le même ou surtout pour d'autres clients ;
  • pouvant être exécutée durant les heures de travail normales (du lundi au vendredi, hors week-ends et jours fériés) ;
  • permettant un rythme de traduction normal de +/- 350 mots / heure (pouvant varier en fonction du domaine et de la difficulté technique et lexicale) ;
  • et permettant une relecture / contrôle de qualité le jour suivant la fin de la phase de traduction, quelle que soit l'heure de fin de traduction, à un rythme normal de +/- 1000 mots / heure.

Exemple pour un texte de 1400 mots :

  • L : livré un lundi (ouvré), avant 16h00 ;
  • D : début de la traduction, mise en production le mercredi (ouvré), durée +/- 4 heures ;
  • F : fin de la traduction, ce même mercredi, heure sans importance ;
  • Pr : relecture, le jeudi (ouvré), durée +/- 1 ½ heure;
  • R : retour le jeudi, avant 12h00.

Notre outil estimation fournit, à titre purement indicatif, la durée d'exécution normale, en jours.

Haut page

Pourquoi les traductions urgentes sont-elles majorées ?

La majoration pour exécution urgente, qui se pratique dans tous les secteurs d'activités, se justifie du fait d'imposer un remaniement du planning en cours et un recours à des ressources supplémentaires, afin de garantir en toutes circonstances à l'ensemble de nos clients le meilleur niveau de qualité dans le respect strict des délais.

Haut page

TEET applique-t-il un forfait minimum, et pourquoi ?

TEET applique en effet un forfait minimum, qui correspond à 1 heure de travail (voir Tarif au 1 janvier 2016 pour le montant actuel).

Quelle que soit la durée de la traduction elle-même, chaque intervention requiert un travail administratif et comptable annexe (p. ex. échanges avant, pendant, après, devis, planning, suivi, facturation, paiements, relances, écritures comptables...). La marge dégagée par les interventions sur des textes très courts ne permet pas de couvrir ce travail administratif.

L'application d'un forfait minimum est comparable aux "frais de dossier" fixes facturés à part dans d'autres secteurs.

Haut page

TEET consent-il des remises pour volume ?

Nous estimons que tout client faisant appel à nos services sur une base régulière et répétitive, pour des volumes qui contribuent SIGNIFICATIVEMENT à notre chiffre d'affaires annuel, et à condition qu'il n'y ait aucun impayé, doit en être justement récompensé. Nous mettons alors en place, en concertation avec le client, un système progressif de remise "key account" (grand compte) faisant l'objet d'un cadre global de tarification communiqué en début d'année et valable pour l'ensemble des demandes livrées au cours de l'exercice comptable (qui chez TEET suit l'année civile du 1 janvier au 31 décembre).

Haut page

Sur quels types de fichiers intervient TEET ?

TEET peut intervenir sur un grand nombre de supports / fichiers contenant des textes. Pour les fichiers bureautiques (Word, Excel, PowerPoint) ou pages Web (HTML, xHTML, XML) classiques, notre traduction respecte à l'identique la mise en forme d'origine. Pour les autres supports, lorsque le contenu ne peut pas être extrait informatiquement mais doit être recomposé (p. ex. photocompositions, fax, photocopies, numérisation graphique…), et sauf demande expresse de votre part, la traduction fournie ne fera l'objet que d'une mise en forme minimale.

Haut page

Est-ce que TEET peut également fournir des traductions assermentées ?

Une traduction assermentée est une traduction qu’un traducteur assermenté certifie conforme à l’original en apposant une apostille du type "traduction certifiée conforme (à l’original)" revêtue de son cachet, datée et signée. Un traducteur assermenté est en fait un traducteur expert, auxiliaire de justice, portant officiellement le titre de "traducteur-interprète expert près la Cour d’Appel" (ou de la Cour de Cassation). Ce statut est soumis à un renouvellement régulier.

En tant que tel TEET n'a pas le statut de traducteur assermenté, et ne pourrait d'ailleurs pas l'avoir, mais certains de nos collaborateurs l'ont. Il nous est donc possible de faire appel à eux pour satisfaire des demandes de ce type.

Une traduction assermentée sera généralement exigée pour la traduction de documents officiels destinés à des administrations (actes de naissance, de mariage, jugements de divorce, pièces d’identité, statuts et bilans de société), dans le cadre d'appels d'offres, pour l'obtention de visas, pour une implantation à l'étranger.

Pratiquement, prévoyez de trois à dix jours ouvrés de délai : si l’envoi de documents est souvent possible par voie électronique, le retour ne peut se faire que par courrier postal (ou par coursier).

Notez toutefois que dans le cadre de la construction européenne, une version "européenne" existe pour de très nombreux documents émis par des administrations publiques des Etats membres (p. ex. les extraits et attestations d'état civil). Il vous suffit alors de réclamer cette version européenne à l'administration publique (d'un Etat membre) concernée, qui aura la même valeur juridique et administrative que les actes administratifs correspondants émis dans le pays (européen) demandeur.

Haut page